Be Still

Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 2.27.52 PM

When I was a child on O’ahu, the Ko’olau Mountains would always make me freeze in my tracks. No matter what I was doing in the car, the first sight of the mountains would make me stop and stare out the window. I would stand at the foot of the mountains and turn my face up until my neck could bend no further. I would look at the mountains, the sky, and the mist for countless moments and say nothing. Although I had no words for what I was feeling, even as a child, my soul was reacting to the majesty of God’s creation. To this day, when I return to the Ko’olau Mountains, I am quieted and humbled. I am still and I feel the power of my God.

Copyright: Living off Island, writingwahine, 2014.

2 thoughts on “Be Still

  1. Paige Loveland

    I find the power of God in the mountains as well. God is everywhere. He is in that person standing on the corner holding the sign to the business along the road. He is in the checkout girl at the supermarket. He is in my colleague. When I look that person in the eye and connect with them, I am experiencing God at His finest. When we are still, there is God. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. ecrivain808 Post author

      Yes, it takes a conscious effort (“to be still”) to see a person as a Child of God. That’s why I love the greeting, “Namaste: The divine light in me sees the divine light in you.” Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

